The pathway to the SA Rugby National Referee Panel is as follows:

  • Nominated by a Referee Society and / or scouted.
    • How?
      • Become a member of the local Referee Society
      • Attend all their courses
      • Complete a BokSmart course
      • Complete a World Rugby Match Officiating Level 1 course
      • Be actively involved in local appointments and meetings
      • Tick all the necessary boxes (fitness / law exam / talent)
    • Attributes of a good referee:
      • Athleticism
      • How you connect with people
      • On and off-field leadership qualities
      • Understanding the game
      • Ambassadorial qualities
      • Social interaction skills
  • Coached and reviewed at various tournaments.
  • Placed on an Academy Squad and developed at various tournaments.
  • Final evaluation during the various SA Rugby Youth weeks.
  • Election process against set criteria.

SA Rugby Match Official Panels for 2024 (in alphabetical order):

National Panel:
Christopher Allison, Aimee Barrett-Theron, Johre Botha, Daniel Canhenga, Hernus Coetzee, Griffin Colby, JD de Meyer, Morne Ferreira, Sinesipho Foloti, Stephan Geldenhuys, AJ Jacobs, Cwengile Jadezweni, Jonathan Lottering, Zukile Madikizela, Lulutho Matomela, Phumzile Mbewu, Ruhan Meiring, Paul Mente, Sean Muller, Ashleigh Murray-Pretorius, Zoe Naude, Dylen November, Marius van der Westhuizen, Hanru van Rooyen, Eon van Zyl, Giana Viljoen.

Women's Panel:
Angelic Bezuidenhout, Cameron Dyers, Aneka Fick, Yohane Halgryn, Lilitha Kalawe, Andiswa Mbilase, Siyanda Pikoli, Bulela Qwane.

TMO Panel:
Ben Crouse, Christie du Preez, Quinton Immelman, Marius Jonker, Archie Sehlako, Egon Seconds.