Clip 4 - 30 October 2017 - Law 19

Wrong, wrong.

Marius Louw, the strong Sharks centre makes ground down the right and tries to get a pass out from under his arm but the ball goes into touch. Johnny Kotze, the Blue Bulls left wing, gets the ball in touch and looks to throw in quickly. Kobus van Wyk (14) of the Sharks stands in front of him between the touchline and the five metre line. Kotze moves to get room to throw in but Van Wyk moves with him, till Kotze throws it in - into Van Wyk. The referee allows the line-out to take place, Blue Bulls throw-in.

Why is Van Wyk not sanctioned?

Law 19.2 (h) At a quick throw-in, a player must not prevent the ball being thrown in 5 metres.
Sanction: Free Kick on 15-metre line

Certainly Van Wyk's intention was the prevent the ball from being thrown in for five metres or more than five metres.

It does seem that the law is saying that once the ball has been thrown a player must not stop it from going five metres.

That happened when Kotze threw the ball into Van Wyk, but he threw it in forward.

Law 19. 2 (f) At a quick throw-in a player may throw the ball in straight along the line of touch or towards that player’s goal-line.

It seems that Kotze's action of throwing the ball at Van Wyk was not to enable his team to play quickly but to express his annoyance at Van Wyk and possibly hurt him.

That would constitute foul play.

Law 10.4 (m) Acts contrary to good sportsmanship. A player must not do anything that is against the spirit of good sportsmanship in the playing enclosure.
Sanction: Penalty kick

It would be better if Van Wyk had been immediately dealt with.

outsurance.co.za advert